Eastern Railway

Eastern Railway is also an eminent zone of Indian railways. The Eastern Indian railway zone was formed on April 14, 1952, by the merger of the East India railway divisions of Howrah, Sealdah, Danapur and Asansol with Bengal - Nagpur Railway.

The 3 main workshops of Eastern Indian Railway are situated in Jamalpur, Kanchrapara and Jamalpur.

Eastern Railways stretches to Bangladesh border in East, whereas Kiul, Lalgoda and Malda in North, Jhajha and Asansol in West and Kakdwip near Ganga Sagar in South.

The Railways is also renowned for making most of its rural routes electrified, and few routes which aren't yet electrified, are served by Diesel Multiple Units. Eastern Indian Railways also transfers Steel, Iron, Tea, Cement, Jute, Textile, Stone and Automobiles etc.

Main/Long Routes of Eastern Railway

  • Howrah - Delhi main line
  • Grand Chord
  • Sahibganj Loop

Other sections

  • Howrah - Bardhaman Main Line of Howrah-Delhi main line
  • Bandel - Katwa Branch Single Line
  • Sheoraphuli - Tarakeswar Branch Line Double Broad Gauge Line
  • Tarakeswar - Arambagh Branch Single Line
  • Howrah - Bardhaman Chord of Howrah - Delhi main line
  • Barharwa - Azimganj - Katwa Loop Line
  • Jasidih Dumka Rampurhat Rail line
  • Bardhaman - Asansol section of Howrah - Delhi main line
  • Khana - Barharwa section of Sahibganj Loop
  • Ranaghat - Gede Branch Double Lines
  • Andal - Sainthia Branch Line
  • Sealdah - Ranaghat Line (including Sealdah - Dankuni and Bandel - Naihati lines)
  • Ranaghat - Krishnanagar City - Lalgola
  • Ranaghat - Shantipur - Krishnanagar City
  • Howrah - Belur Math
  • Sealdah - Barasat - Bangaon - Ranaghat Line
  • Barasat - Hasnabad Branch Single Line
  • Dum Dum - Biman Bandar
  • Sealdah - Baruipur - Diamond Harbour of Sealdah South Lines
  • Sonarpur - Canning of Sealdah South Lines
  • Baruipur - Lakshmikantapur - Namkhana of Sealdah South Lines
  • Sealdah - Budge Budge of Sealdah South Lines
  • Kolkata Circular Railway
  • Ahmedpur Katwa Railway (narrow gauge)
  • Burdwan Katwa Railway (narrow gauge)

Facts about Eastern Railway (ER)

Headquarters: Kolkata
Location: Fairley Place, Kolkata
Length: 2414
Area Covered: West Bengal and Bihar
Predecessor: East Indian Railway
Track gauge: Mixed
Dates of established: 14-Apr-1952
Dates of operation: 14-Apr-1952
Website: http://www.easternrailway.gov.in/

Railway Division in Eastern Railway [ हिंदी ]





Asansol West Bengal


Howrah, West Bengal


Malda West Bengal


Kolkata, West Bengal