East Central Railway

East Central Railway was announced on September 08, 1996 and an officer on special duty of the rank of General Manager was posted. Though the Zone was first set up on September 8, 1996 with Headquarters at Hajipur, Bihar, it became operational on 1st October, 2002. East Central Railway was carved out of Eastern and North Eastern Railway.


  • Howrah - Delhi main line
  • Grand Chord

Facts about East Central Railway (ECR)

Headquarters: Hajipur
Location: Hajipur Railway Station
Length: 3628
Area Covered: Bihar, Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh and (a small stretch in) Madhya Pradesh
Predecessor: Eastern Railway
Dates of established: 08-Sep-1996
Dates of operation: 01-Oct-2002
Website: http://www.ecr.railnet.gov.in/

Railway Division in East Central Railway

S# Division Headquarters
1 Danapur Danapur, Patna, Bihar
2 Dhanbad Dhanbad, Jharkhand
3 Mughalsarai Mughalsarai, Chandauli, UP
4 Samastipur Samastipur, Darbhanga, Bihar
5 Sonpur Sonpur, Saran, Bihar
Railway Zones